Driveway crossover permit in Brisbane City Council, QLD
A driveway that crosses the footpath or nature strip in Brisbane City Council needs a vehicle crossing permit. The fee is $20.30 (year not stated on the council page).
Checked 17 October 2026.
Residential driveway permit
Example coverage: Brisbane CBD, Mount Gravatt, Chermside, South Brisbane QLD. The suburb-to-council match is not certain here.
- Fee and fee year
- $20.30, year not stated on the council page. The council's fee table goes up to $293.40. Allow for application, inspection and any bond separately.
- Who applies
- Confirm whether the owner or an authorised contractor submits.
- Timeframe
- We aim to assess your application and send you a response within 20 working days.
- Plans
- Upload photos if required; full assessment for non-compliant driveways (RPEQ certification not captured)
- Council notes, as captured
- Two tiers: self-assessment permit $20.30; full assessment $293.40 (which amount belongs to which tier is inferred from page order and SERP). Year not stated.
Open the Brisbane City Council page for the current vehicle crossing guidance.
Checked 17 October 2026.
The permit is separate from the concrete. For the concrete, see the driveway cost guide, and for businesses, the Brisbane list.
Common questions
Do I need a permit for a new driveway in Brisbane City Council?
If it crosses the footpath or nature strip, you generally do. Brisbane City Council charges $20.30 (year not stated on the council page).
Who applies, me or the concreter?
Ask your concreter who is doing it and put it in the quote.
How long does a crossover permit take?
The council states: We aim to assess your application and send you a response within 20 working days.
Why does your table say "not found"?
We list a fee only when it is on a council page we can open. Not found means we could not find one on the date shown.
Spotted an out-of-date fee? Tell us through the correction form with the council link and we will update the row.