Driveway crossover permit fees by council

We checked 64 metro councils for a published driveway crossover permit fee. 32 publish one (29 give an amount, 3 say there is no fee), and 30 state how long approval takes. Base fees range from $20.30 to $594; higher tiers (arterial roads, combined permits) reach $1,201. Each row shows the fee, the year it was published, who applies (the owner or the concreter), a link to the council page and the date we checked it. Fees change each financial year, so confirm with the council before you book.

Updated . Checked 17 October 2026.

64 councils, checked 17 Oct 2026. Current rules and fees must be confirmed with the council.
CouncilStateFeeYear of feeWho appliesTimeframeSource linkChecked date
Blacktown City CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedOwner lodges online; concreter named on applicationApproval can take up to 10 business days; allow 5 days processing time after lodgement; Final inspection booked 2...Council page17 Oct 2026
Blue Mountains City CouncilNSWCouncil page not found (checked 17 Oct 2026)Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedNot found17 Oct 2026
Campbelltown City Council (NSW)NSWFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Canterbury-Bankstown CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of ParramattaNSW$300Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of SydneyNSWFee not publishedYear not statedOwner; may use own contractor or accept Council quoteIf the City builds it, can take up to 28 days after payment of the quote; contractor timing is negotiatedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Cumberland City CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Fairfield City CouncilNSW$195Year not statedOwner and contractor sign; contractor details mandatoryFormwork inspection needs at least 48 hours' notice; final inspection approximately 20 working days after the...Council page17 Oct 2026
Hornsby Shire CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedCouncil's Authorised Contractor lodges online application; only Authorised Contractors can constructCouncil takes action if no reply received within 28 days (rectification notice, not an approval time)Council page17 Oct 2026
Inner West CouncilNSW$586.402026-27Owner for Step 1; owner with engaged contractor for Step 2Not publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Liverpool City CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedOwner; contractor licensedNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Northern Beaches CouncilNSWCouncil page not found (checked 17 Oct 2026)Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedNot found17 Oct 2026
Penrith City CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedLodged online; driveways built by accredited licensed contractorsCouncil assessments and approvals can take up to six (6) weeks or longer if Local Traffic Committee approval is...Council page17 Oct 2026
Sutherland Shire CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilOnce you apply, it takes about 3-4 weeks to go through the application process and receive/finalise your driveway...Council page17 Oct 2026
The Hills Shire CouncilNSWFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilContractor may commence work after 4 hours of being issued a receipt; initial inspection booked after formworkCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Brisbane City CouncilQLD$20.30
the council's fee table goes up to $293.40
Year not statedConfirm with councilWe aim to assess your application and send you a response within 20 working days.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of Gold CoastQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilAfter payment, allow 3 business days before booking an inspection.Council page17 Oct 2026
Ipswich City CouncilQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Logan City CouncilQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Moreton Bay Regional CouncilQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Redland City CouncilQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilWe'll review your application within 20 business days. Once you've made the payment, we'll issue the permit within 3...Council page17 Oct 2026
Sunshine Coast CouncilQLDFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Adelaide Hills CouncilSAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilPlease allow four weeks for requests to be considered.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of AdelaideSACouncil page not found (checked 17 Oct 2026)Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedNot found17 Oct 2026
City of Charles SturtSA$100Year not statedConfirm with councilThe assessment process happens within 10 to 15 business daysCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of Holdfast BaySA$80Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of MarionSACouncil page not found (checked 17 Oct 2026)Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedNot found17 Oct 2026
City of OnkaparingaSA$236Year not statedConfirm with councilPlease allow at least four (4) weeks for requests to be considered.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of PlayfordSAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilApplications must be received by Council at least six weeks prior to the required installation date of the driveway;...Council page17 Oct 2026
City of Port Adelaide EnfieldSAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of SalisburySAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of Tea Tree GullySA$50Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Town of GawlerSA$100Year not statedConfirm with councilCouncil aims to process Section 221 applications within 10 business days lodgement of the application with Council.Council page17 Oct 2026
Bayside City CouncilVIC$365Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Brimbank City CouncilVIC$305.85
the council's fee table goes up to $794.34
Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Cardinia Shire CouncilVIC$160.602026-27Owner applies, but a qualified contractor with $20M public liability insurance is required; owner cannot do the workProcessing time: up to 28 business days. Permit valid for 6 months (can be extended for 3 months)Council page17 Oct 2026
City of BoroondaraVIC$411Year not statedOnly property owners or contractors may applyAllow up to 10 business days for your application to be assessed.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of CaseyVIC$3642026-27Confirm with councilA Council officer will conduct an onsite visit within 28 business days and assess your application. After payment,...Council page17 Oct 2026
City of Greater DandenongVIC$329Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of KingstonVIC$265Year not statedProperty owner responsible for construction, maintenance and costPermit active and valid for 12 months until expiry or the work is completed; inspections need at least two (2)...Council page17 Oct 2026
City of MelbourneVIC$369.60Year not statedOwner or contractor (vehicle crossings are the responsibility of the property owner)Not publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of MonashVIC$309.20
the council's fee table goes up to $744.30
2026-27Property owner or contractor (works manager public liability certificate recommended)Vehicle Crossing Permit application advice may take up to 10 working days. Permit expires 6 months from issueCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of WhittleseaVIC$161.75Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Frankston City CouncilVIC$310Year not statedConfirm with councilWe will process your application within 5 business days.Council page17 Oct 2026
Glen Eira City CouncilVIC$400Year not statedBenefiting property owner responsible for buildingNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Hume City CouncilVIC$103.60
the council's fee table goes up to $744.30
2026-27Confirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Knox City CouncilVIC$4252026-27Confirm with councilIf your request is approved, you will receive the permit via email within 5 business days.Council page17 Oct 2026
Maroondah City CouncilVIC$335Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Mornington Peninsula ShireVICFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilPermit issued as soon as possible, may take up to 10 business days to finaliseCouncil page17 Oct 2026
Wyndham City CouncilVIC$102.60
the council's fee table goes up to $737.01
Year not statedConfirm with councilYou will need to apply at least 20 business days before you begin works.Council page17 Oct 2026
Yarra Ranges CouncilVIC$345
the council's fee table goes up to $1,201
Year not statedConfirm with councilPlease allow 10 business days for us to process your application.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of ArmadaleWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of CanningWA$5942026-27Confirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of CockburnWANo application feeYear not statedConfirm with councilup to five (5) days to processCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of FremantleWA$130Year not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of GosnellsWANo application feeYear not statedConfirm with councilSubmit the application at least 4 weeks prior to construction of the crossing.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of JoondalupWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilAssessments take 10-15 working days.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of MandurahWA$1502026-27Confirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of MelvilleWANo application feeYear not statedConfirm with councilPlease allow a minimum of 10 business days for crossover approvals.Council page17 Oct 2026
City of PerthWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilResponse time: 10 working days from date of 'completed' application being receivedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of RockinghamWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of StirlingWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of SwanWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026
City of WannerooWAFee not publishedYear not statedConfirm with councilNot publishedCouncil page17 Oct 2026

“Fee not published” is never shown as $0 or as no permit required. A council page read without an amount means the fee sits in a separate schedule we have not parsed.