Driveway crossover permit in Fairfield City Council, NSW

A driveway that crosses the footpath or nature strip in Fairfield City Council needs a vehicle crossing permit. The fee is $195 (year not stated on the council page). Who applies: Owner and contractor sign; contractor details mandatory. The council's page is https://www.fairfieldcity.nsw.gov.au/files/assets/public/documents/forms-and-fact-sheets/driveway-vehicular-crossing-application.pdf (checked 17 Oct 2026).

Checked 17 October 2026.

Application - Driveway (Vehicular Crossing)

Coverage: a metro council in NSW. None of the suburbs on this site is matched to it yet.

Fee and fee year
$195, year not stated on the council page. Allow for application, inspection and any bond separately.
Who applies
Owner and contractor sign; contractor details mandatory
Timeframe
Formwork inspection needs at least 48 hours' notice; final inspection approximately 20 working days after the concrete pour
Contractor
Yes: contractor licensed with minimum $10 million public liability cover; licence attached
Inspection fee
Included in application fee (formwork + final); re-inspection $100
Council notes, as captured
Fee read from the council application form PDF; year not stated. Info page: https://www.fairfieldcity.nsw.gov.au/Planning-and-Building/Developments-and-Buildings/Vehicular-Crossings

Open the Fairfield City Council page for the current vehicle crossing guidance.

Checked 17 October 2026.

The permit is separate from the concrete. For the concrete, see the driveway cost guide, and for businesses, the your city list.

Common questions

Do I need a permit for a new driveway in Fairfield City Council?

If it crosses the footpath or nature strip, you generally do. Fairfield City Council charges $195 (year not stated on the council page).

Who applies, me or the concreter?

Who applies: Owner and contractor sign; contractor details mandatory. Ask your concreter who is doing it and put it in the quote. Ask your concreter who is doing it and put it in the quote.

How long does a crossover permit take?

The council states: Formwork inspection needs at least 48 hours' notice; final inspection approximately 20 working days after the concrete pour.

Why does your table say "not found"?

We list a fee only when it is on a council page we can open. Not found means we could not find one on the date shown.

Spotted an out-of-date fee? Tell us through the correction form with the council link and we will update the row.