Driveway crossover permit in City of Whittlesea, VIC

A driveway that crosses the footpath or nature strip in City of Whittlesea needs a vehicle crossing permit. The fee is $161.75 (year not stated on the council page).

Checked 17 October 2026.

Works in Road Reserve Permit (vehicle crossing)

Coverage: a metro council in VIC. None of the suburbs on this site is matched to it yet.

Fee and fee year
$161.75, year not stated on the council page. Allow for application, inspection and any bond separately.
Who applies
Confirm whether the owner or an authorised contractor submits.
Timeframe
Not published. Do not infer an approval period.
Contractor
Works manager/contractor; traffic management plan by qualified and accredited professional
Plans
TMP prepared by qualified traffic management professional; MOA form if speed reduction needed
Council notes, as captured
Page says 'current fees' and a 1 July annual adjustment; year not stated. Council Vehicle Crossing Policy 2024 also applies.

Open the City of Whittlesea page for the current vehicle crossing guidance.

Checked 17 October 2026.

The permit is separate from the concrete. For the concrete, see the driveway cost guide, and for businesses, the your city list.

Common questions

Do I need a permit for a new driveway in City of Whittlesea?

If it crosses the footpath or nature strip, you generally do. City of Whittlesea charges $161.75 (year not stated on the council page).

Who applies, me or the concreter?

Ask your concreter who is doing it and put it in the quote.

How long does a crossover permit take?

City of Whittlesea does not publish a timeframe we could find, so ask when you apply.

Why does your table say "not found"?

We list a fee only when it is on a council page we can open. Not found means we could not find one on the date shown.

Spotted an out-of-date fee? Tell us through the correction form with the council link and we will update the row.