Driveway crossover permit in City of Onkaparinga, SA

A driveway that crosses the footpath or nature strip in City of Onkaparinga needs a vehicle crossing permit. The fee is $236 (year not stated on the council page).

Checked 17 October 2026.

Authorisation to alter a public road (driveway crossover / invert)

Example coverage: Morphett Vale SA.

Fee and fee year
$236, year not stated on the council page. Allow for application, inspection and any bond separately.
Who applies
Confirm whether the owner or an authorised contractor submits.
Timeframe
Please allow at least four (4) weeks for requests to be considered.
Contractor
Applicant and any contractor must hold public liability insurance of minimum $20,000,000
Council notes, as captured
Fee read from the council application form PDF whose filename carries 2024; the fee may have been indexed since. Page: https://www.onkaparingacity.com/Services/Permits/Alter-public-road-permit

Open the City of Onkaparinga page for the current vehicle crossing guidance.

Checked 17 October 2026.

The permit is separate from the concrete. For the concrete, see the driveway cost guide, and for businesses, the Adelaide list.

Common questions

Do I need a permit for a new driveway in City of Onkaparinga?

If it crosses the footpath or nature strip, you generally do. City of Onkaparinga charges $236 (year not stated on the council page).

Who applies, me or the concreter?

Ask your concreter who is doing it and put it in the quote.

How long does a crossover permit take?

The council states: Please allow at least four (4) weeks for requests to be considered.

Why does your table say "not found"?

We list a fee only when it is on a council page we can open. Not found means we could not find one on the date shown.

Spotted an out-of-date fee? Tell us through the correction form with the council link and we will update the row.